Legends of Hockey - Induction Showcase - 2009 Press Release
Hockey Hall of Fame Logo

Hockey Hall Of Fame Introduces New Voting Procedures For Honoured Membership

TORONTO (March 31, 2009) — Bill Hay, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that new by-law provisions replacing the present requirement to consider male and female player candidates on the same ballot will take effect beginning with the 2010 election proceedings.

Ratified at the Hall's Annual General and Special Meeting of the Members held earlier today in Toronto, newly enacted By-law No. 21 will establish the annual limits for candidates who could be elected in the Player Category at four (4) male inductees and two (2) female inductees. In addition, the Board of Directors will be required to reconsider and deliberate on potential changes to such limits at least once every five years having regard to the growth, development and popularity of the game at the elite level.

"The new voting procedures address the basic principle and general view among the Board of Directors and Selection Committee that men and women ought not to compete directly against each other for limited places of Honoured Membership," said Hay. "It creates fair conditions for all candidates while reinforcing that the existing basis for selection and requisite standards of excellence be applied equally to both genders."

By-law No. 21 also clarifies that a candidate in the Builder Category need not have been a coach, manager or hockey executive but may have served the game in some other significant capacity and it further provides that candidates in the Builder and Referee/Linesman categories will be considered on the same ballot with a combined annual limit of two (2) individuals who could be elected. With the latter amendment, the voting results in the Player Category will no longer impact the voting limit in the other two categories since the overall maximum (presently capped at five (5) inductees per year) will be eliminated.

In other developments, David Branch, President of the Canadian Hockey League, and Mike Gartner, Hockey Hall of Fame Honoured Member, were appointed as new members of the Selection Committee. Scotty Bowman, Jan-Åke Edvinsson, Yvon Pedneault and Harry Sinden were also re-appointed each for a further three-year term. The Selection Committee will meet on June 22 & 23, 2009 to consider duly nominated candidates for the 2009 Induction Celebration scheduled on Monday, November 9th.

Hay complimented the Selection Committee, past and present, as the "blue-chip" panel of distinguished hockey people whose collective knowledge and passion for the game represent the foundation of the Hockey Hall of Fame. "While the Board administers the corporate by-laws, it is the Selection Committee's responsibility as an independent body to determine if and when any particular player, builder or official candidate is duly nominated and elected into Honoured Membership," he said.

Established in 1943, the Hockey Hall of Fame ("HHOF") is a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits and multimedia presentations from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Canada. Its mandate is to recognize and honour the achievements of individuals who bring special distinction to the game of hockey, and to collect, preserve and exhibit objects, images and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world.

To repeal or amend an existing HHOF by-law, the proposed by-law must be (i) enacted by an affirmative vote of at least three quarters of the Board of Directors, (ii) ratified by an affirmative vote of at least three quarters of the general voting Members, and (iii) approved by Industry Canada.


Hockey Hall of Fame
Kelly Masse
(416) 933-8212

Hockey Hall of Fame Logo

(as appointed March 31, 2009)

Jim Gregory, Co-Chair Toronto, Ontario
Pat Quinn, Co-Chair Vancouver, British Columbia
Scotty Bowman East Amherst, New York
David Branch Whitby, Ontario
Colin Campbell Toronto, Ontario
John Davidson Bedford, New York
Eric Duhatschek Calgary, Alberta
Jan-Åke Edvinsson Zurich, Switzerland
Mike Emrick Port Huron, Michigan
Michael Farber Verdun, Quebec
Mike Gartner Richmond Hill, Ontario
Dick Irvin Pointe-Claire, Quebec
Lanny McDonald Calgary, Alberta
Yvon Pedneault Candiac, Quebec
Serge Savard Montreal, Quebec
Harry Sinden Boston, Massachusetts
Peter Stastny Bratislava, Slovak Republic
Bill Torrey Sunrise, Florida

Haggar Clothing and Hockey Legends