Legends of Hockey - Non-NHL Trophies - IIHF World Junior Championship
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
IIHF World Junior Championship
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies
IIHF World Junior Championship History

This premier junior hockey event has been held annually by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) since 1977. In the tournament's formative years, eight nations competed for top honours with two in particular dominating the gold medal haul, namely Canada and the former Soviet Union. In fact, the Soviets won seven of the first 10 titles and the Canadians winning seven times in the 1990s.

The IIHF presents their Championship plate to the winning team after the gold medal game. Each year a new plate is awarded to the victors, thus allowing the winning nation to keep, preserve and showcase their achievement.


2015 Canada
2014 Finland
2013 United States
2012 Sweden
2011 Russia
2010 USA
2009 Canada
2008 Canada
2007 Canada
2006 Canada
2005 Canada
2004 USA
2003 Russia
2002 Russia
2001 Czech Republic
2000 Czech Republic
1999 Russia
1998 Finland
1997 Canada
1996 Canada
1995 Canada
1994 Canada
1993 Canada
1992 Unified Team
1991 Canada
1990 Canada
1989 Soviet Union
1988 Canada
1987 Finland
1986 Soviet Union
1985 Canada
1984 Soviet Union
1983 Soviet Union
1982 Canada
1981 Sweden
1980 Soviet Union
1979 Soviet Union
1978 Soviet Union
1977 Soviet Union
1976 Soviet Union
1975 Soviet Union
1974 Soviet Union