Legends of Hockey - Non-NHL Trophies - IIHF World Women's Championships
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
IIHF World Women's Championship
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies
IIHF World Women's Championship History

The Women's World Championship is a relatively new event, having staged its first competition in 1990. This tournament, initially held every two years, grew in stature that precipitated not only the need for an annual tournament but also separate tiers to accommodate additional competing nations.

While there have always been eight to nine teams vying for women's hockey supremacy, every gold medal game has featured the two perennial powerhouse teams of Canada and the United States. Canada's streak of eight straight (nine unofficial) world titles ended this past year with the Americans winning in a shoot-out.

Each winning team receives and keeps a championship plate to symbolize their victory in women's hockey at its highest level.


2017 - United States
2016 - United States
2015 - United States
2013 - United States
2012 - Canada
2011 - United States
2010 - Not held in Olympic Year
2009 - United States
2008 - United States
2007 - Canada
2006 - Not held in Olympic Year
2005 - United States
2004 - Canada
2001 - Canada
2000 - Canada
1999 - Canada
1997 - Canada
1994 - Canada
1992 - Canada
1990 - Canada
1987 - Canada