Via Rail presents The Online Exhibits Tour

4. Via Rail Stanley Cup Dynasties

Via Rail Stanley Cup Dynasties, unveiled in conjunction with NHL Zone, includes reverent displays to the rosters of nine franchises which lorded over the NHL for extended periods of time, giving these clubs the singular honour of being considered "Dynasties".

The Ottawa Senators of the 1920's, the Toronto Maple Leafs of the 1940's and sixties, the Detroit Red Wings of the early-fifties, the Montreal Canadiens of the late-fifties, the sixties and the 1970's, the New York Islanders of the early-eighties, and Edmonton's Oilers of the late-1980's are heralded in this area, which also includes a unique, floor-to-ceiling engraved Stanley Cup "Bands of Champions" wall and a comprehensive timeline of the Stanley Cup's illustrious history.

The dynasties of the New York Islanders and Edmonton Oilers won eight of the 10 Stanley Cup championships during the 1980s.
The Ottawa Senators of 1919-20 to 1926-27 are considered the NHL's first dynasty. Winning four Stanley Cup championships in eight years and featuring no fewer than fourteen future members of the Hockey Hall Fame, including Frank Nighbor and Cy Denneny, this was truly a team for the ages.

The Toronto Maple Leafs of 1946-47 to 1950-51 were the first team to win the Stanley Cup three times in succession and, in fact, won the big prize four out of five seasons. With players such as Syl Apps and Ted Kennedy leading the team, just two of thirteen Hall of Famers in all, the Leafs of the 1940s were a handful for any opponent.

The Detroit Red Wings of 1949-50 to 1954-55 featured all-time greats Gordie Howe, Ted Lindsay and Terry Sawchuk, and won the Stanley Cup four times over a six year stretch. In 1950, Pete Babando became the first to record an overtime Stanley Cup-winning goal in a seventh game; a feat duplicated by teammate Tony Leswick four years later.

The Montreal Canadiens of 1955-56 to 1959-60 are, arguably, the greatest team in NHL history as they are the only team to capture the Stanley Cup on five consecutive occasions. With future Hall of Famers like Jean Beliveau, Maurice Richard and Jacques Plante, and coached by the legendary Toe Blake, the Canadiens dominated not only the playoffs, but the regular season as well.

The Toronto Maple Leafs of 1961-62 to 1966-67, like the Maple Leafs of twenty years prior, won the Stanley Cup an astounding three times in a row. With an all-star cast including Johnny Bower, Tim Horton and Frank Mahovlich, the Leafs added a surprising Cup victory over the heavily-favoured Montreal Canadiens In 1967, their fourth championship in six years.

The Montreal Canadiens of 1964-65 to 1968-69, while often overshadowed by the great Canadiens' teams of the 1950s and 1970s, still managed to reel off an amazing four Stanley Cup championships in five seasons and boasted a roster of stars that included Yvan Cournoyer, Jacques Laperriere and Henri Richard.

The Montreal Canadiens of 1975-76 to 1978-79 boast a winning percentage of .786 over that period and hoisted the Stanley Cup four years in a row. Led by head coach Scotty Bowman, anchored by the goaltending of Ken Dryden, the steadying presence of Larry Robinson and the offensive flare of Guy Lafleur, many consider this to be the greatest lineup ever to dress in the NHL.

The New York Islanders of 1979-80 to 1982-83 became the first American-based team to win hockey's most coveted prize in four consecutive seasons. Rising from an expansion debut to NHL dynasty in just eight seasons, the Islanders' roster included future Hall of Famers Bryan Trottier, Mike Bossy and Denis Potvin.

The Edmonton Oilers of 1983-84 to 1989-90. A collection of young stars formed the nucleus of hockey's most recent dynasty. Strong draft choices Mark Messier, Jari Kurri and Paul Coffey complemented hockey's greatest scorer, Wayne Gretzky. The Oilers won five Stanley Cup championships in seven years, including the final one in 1990, earned after Gretzky's departure to L.A.

< Exhibits Menu