

2019 HOCKEY HALL OF FAME NHL MEDIA AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

TORONTO (May 28, 2019) - Mark Spector, President of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, announced today that **Frank Brown** will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and **Jim Hughson** will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Frank Brown's professional writing career began in 1970, at the age of 18, when his first story appeared in a New York Rangers game-night program. Brown spent seven seasons as the principle hockey voice for The Associated Press during which he covered the Miracle On Ice and the dynasty years of the Montreal Canadiens. He joined The New York Daily News from 1980 – 1998 covering all three NHL teams, including Stanley Cup Championships by each. Brown retired in 2018 after spending the final two decades of his career as a communications executive with the NHL.

"As a writer, Frank was that rare mix of story breaker and story teller," said Spector. "He stayed true to his tabloid roots with punchy prose, scoops and leads that reminded you that you were reading the New York Daily News. But in his time covering literally every important story between the Islanders dynasty and the Rangers win in '94, he also told hockey's stories exceptionally well."

Jim Hughson began broadcasting hockey games in the South Peace Hockey League in his hometown of Fort St John, B.C. Those games led to a 30-year career, calling games on radio and TV at every level. A ten time nominee and 4 time recipient of the Gemini/ Canadian screen award as Canada's top play by play announcer. Hughson has called the Stanley Cup final, World Junior championship, Olympics, and World Cup of Hockey. Hughson is also a member of the British Columbia Hockey Hall of Fame.

"Jim Hughson has been an exemplary broadcaster on both the local and national levels for many years, since his days with Vancouver Canucks, said Kaiton. "Jim is an excellent broadcaster and a very deserving recipient of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award." Brown and Hughson will receive their awards at the "Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon" in Toronto on Monday, November 18, 2019, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as "Media Honourees" – a separate distinction from individuals inducted as "Honoured Members" who are elected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2019 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 15, 2019, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 18, 2019. This year's inductees will be announced on **Tuesday**, **June 25**, 2019.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the **Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late "Voice of Hockey" in Canada, the **Foster Hewitt Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

For more information:

Mark Spector Professional Hockey Writers' Association mark.spector@rci.rogers.com

Chuck Kaiton NHL Broadcasters' Association <u>chuckkaiton3@gmail.com</u>