Maurice "Rocket" Richard TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Iginla, Jarome
Kovalchuk, Ilya
Nash, Rick

Columbus Blue Jackets

For the first time in NHL history there was a three-way tie among players from different teams for an award. Jarome Iginla, Ilya Kovalchuk and Rick Nash all recorded 41-goal seasons to earn a share of the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy. While the Art Ross Trophy incorporates tiebreaker criteria including most goals and least games played, the Richard Trophy does not. Of note, Iginla and Kovalchuk both played 81 games where as Nash played only 80. It was the second Richard Trophy in three seasons for Calgary's Jarome Iginla, who also won the award in 2002 with 52 goals. The Flames captain led the team in scoring with 73 points while finishing top five among NHL players in shorthanded goals (4), even-strength goals (29) and game-winning goals (10). Ilya Kovalchuk joined Pavel Bure as the only Russian-born player to win the Richard Trophy, earning his first award at age 21. He finished second in NHL scoring with 87 points, while leading all NHL players in shots (341) and forwards with 23:41 of ice time per game. Twenty-year-old Rick Nash became the second Canadian-born player, with Iginla, to capture the Richard Trophy and the youngest player in NHL history ever to lead the league in goals. Nash played one less game (80) than his co-winners while also leading his club in scoring with 57 points.

Iginla, Jarome, Kovalchuk, Ilya & Nash, Rick