Stanley CupTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Stanley Cup Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
New Jersey Devils

The New Jersey Devils collected the Atlantic Division title with 108 points through the regular season; good for a second place finish behind the Ottawa Senators in the Eastern Conference. Matched against Boston in the opening round of the playoffs, New Jersey defeated the Bruins four games to one. The Devils then were paired with Tampa Bay in the second round, and beat the Lightning in five games. The Conference championship saw the Devils and Senators face off in a series pitting the two highest ranking teams in the East. New Jersey upset the favoured Senators four games to three to win the Prince of Wales Trophy and the opportunity to compete for the Stanley Cup against the surprising Western Conference champions, the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim. The Stanley Cup finals provided some of the most dramatic competition experienced in years. New Jersey went ahead with twin victories at home to begin the series, but the Ducks returned to Anaheim to even the series at two games apiece. Game 5 was a Devils' victory, but Anaheim held their ground in Game 6 and squared the seesaw series at three games apiece, setting up the exciting scenario of a winner takes all seventh game for the Stanley Cup. Game 7 was anticlimactic, with the New Jersey Devils dominating the Mighty Ducks 3-0 to capture the Stanley Cup for the third time in nine years. Rookie Michael Rupp was the hero of Game 7 with a goal and two assists for New Jersey while Martin Brodeur earned his third shutout of the finals and his record-setting seventh of the playoffs in backstopping the Devils to the championship.

New Jersey Devils
Click here to view larger image.