Vezina TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Vezina Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Dryden, Ken
Larocque, Michel

Montreal Canadiens

The Montreal Canadiens captured the VEZINA TROPHY for the fourth consecutive season, the first team to do so in 19 years. They were led by goaltenders KEN DRYDEN and MICHEL LAROCQUE. KEN was the workhorse, winning 30 of 47 games played, leading the league in shutouts (5) and goals-against average (2.30), while earning a berth on the First All-Star Team. Following Montreal's Stanley Cup victory that season, DRYDEN retired from the game at the tender age of 31. The New York Islanders' duo of Glenn Resch and Billy Smith claimed runner-up VEZINA status.

Dryden, Ken & Larocque, Michel