HHOF History: Founders and Leaders
Founders & Leaders

HHoF Founders
Top row (left to right)
Clarence S. Campbell, Montreal, P.Q.
Harry I. Price, Toronto, Ont.
Capt. J. T. Sutherland, Kingston, Ont.
Frank J. Selke, Montreal, P.Q.
James D. Norris, Chicago, Ill.
George Dudley, Midland, Ont.
Hiram McCallum, Toronto, Ont.
George T. Bell, Toronto, Ont.
Robert W. Hewitson, Toronto, Ont.
Bottom row (left to right)
Gen. J. R. Kilpatrick, New York, N.Y.
Walter Brown, Boston, Mass.
Hon. Senator Hartland deM. Molson, Montreal, P.Q.
Bruce Norris, Detroit, Mich.
Conn Smythe, Toronto, Ont.
Weston Adams, Boston Mass.
Arthur Wirtz, Chicago, Ill.
Hon. Senator Donat Raymond, Montreal P.Q.
Margaret Norris, Detroit, Mich.

Bobby Hewitson
Bobby Hewitson The HHOF's curator from the beginning was Bobby Hewitson. He was a consummate sportsman involved in hockey, rugby and horse racing. A former sports editor and NHL referee for 10 years, he was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1963 in recognition of his contributions as an official. As curator, he continued the task of pursuing, collecting, cataloguing and preserving the collection for exhibition in the new building at BCE Place now Brookfield Place.

Lefty Reid
Lefty Reid After Bobby Hewitson's retirement in 1967, the formidable task fell to the Hockey Hall of Fame's second curator, Maurice "Lefty" Reid. Like Hewitson, Reid was a sports reporter and his dedication to the Hockey Hall of Fame was such that he spent his vacations from the Toronto Telegram working at the Hall before he became its curator. For the next 25 years, Reid continued to expand on Hewitson's work. Acquisitions arrived or were sought out, new programs begun and old ones enhanced. Chief among Reid's accomplishments was the creation of a world-class library and resource centre. In 1992, Lefty Reid retired, passing the torch to Scotty Morrison to build the new Hockey Hall of Fame.

Scotty Morrison
Scotty Morrison The shape and direction of the new Hockey Hall of Fame owe much to the vision and creativity of its former chairman, Ian "Scotty" Morrison. A one-time player in the Montreal Canadiens junior organization, he is better known as the former referee-in-chief of the NHL. Following his appointment as President in 1986, he supervised the expansion of both the Hockey Hall of Fame's collection and its mandate. In addition to supplementing the Hall's museum function with research and development programs such as the Canadian Hockey Centre of Excellence, he also undertook the task of finding a larger, state-of-the-art venue for the Hockey Hall of Fame and the enormous job of relocating it.

Bill Hay
William Charles "Bill" Hay Bill Hay was appointed Chairman and CEO of the Hockey Hall of Fame in July 1998; positions he would hold until August 1, 2013. His service to the Hall consisted of 17 years on the Selection Committee (1980-1997) and 18 years on the Board of Directors (1995-2013) where he served as Chairman for 15 years. Under Hay's leadership, the Hall strengthened relations with key constituents such as the IIHF, NHL, NHLPA and Hockey Canada, and invested over $30-million in capital assets, including two major expansion projects. Bill Hay had previously worked as President and COO of Hockey Canada, President and CEO of the Calgary Flames, as well as serving as a member of the Canadian Special Olympics Advisory Board.

Pat Quinn
Pat Quinn Pat Quinn was a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee from 1998-2013. His hockey resume includes a nine-year NHL playing career as well as executive, managerial and/or coaching positions with the Philadelphia Flyers, Los Angeles Kings, Vancouver Canucks, Toronto Maple Leafs, Edmonton Oilers and Hockey Canada. He was a two-time recipient of the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's coach of the year and served as head coach of the Canadian Men's Olympic team that captured the gold medal at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City. Quinn was appointed the Order of Canada, this country's highest civilian award, in November 2012. On August 1, 2013, he assumed the role of Chairman of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame. During his tenure as Chairman, Pat Quinn passed away on November 23, 2014.

Lanny McDonald
Lanny McDonald Lanny McDonald enjoyed sixteen prolific NHL seasons with the Toronto Maple Leafs, Colorado Rockies and Calgary Flames, retiring as a champion on the heels of the Flames' Stanley Cup victory in 1989. Following his playing career, McDonald served as Vice-President with the Calgary organization for many years. In addition, he was general manager of Team Canada for the 2001 and 2002 World Championships and director of player personnel of Canada's gold medal-winning squad in 2004. Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1992, McDonald would join the Selection Committee in 2007. A dedicated family man, community benefactor, philanthropist and successful businessman, Lanny McDonald assumed the role of Chair of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame on July 1, 2015.

Jeff Denomme
Jeff Denomme.jpg Jeff Denomme has served the Hockey Hall of Fame since 1986. As director of finance and operations, he played an instrumental role in the design, development and operational planning for the Hall of Fame's $27-million relocation and expansion from the CNE grounds to Brookfield Place, Toronto in 1993. On January 1, 1998, Denomme assumed the role of president, chief operating officer and treasurer, and on August 1, 2013, he was appointed to his current position as president and chief executive officer. His contributions in the areas of strategic planning, exhibition/facility design, marketing partnerships, information technology and corporate finance have provided the cornerstone of the Hall of Fame's economic sustainability and its on-going growth and development, through which the Hockey Hall of Fame has become one of Canada's premier tourist attractions and is renowned worldwide as the model for innovation and efficiencies in the sports hall of fame and museum industry.
Le Germain
Bottom Line
Spirit Of Hockey, shop online now!
Find out about renting the facilities at the Hockey Hall of Fame
Donate your hockey artifacts to the Hockey Hall of Fame