Legends of Hockey - NHL Player Search -- 1000+ Games Played

The annual meeting of the Selection Committee will be held in Toronto on Wednesday, June 19th, 2002 to select and announce this year's inductees. This fall's Induction Weekend festivities will take place November 1st-4th culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 4th.

The Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee consists of 18 individuals appointed by the Board of Directors, whose mandate is to nominate and elect candidates as Honoured Members in the Player, Builder and Referee/Linesman categories. Player and Referee/Linesman candidates must have concluded their respective playing or officiating careers for a minimum of three playing seasons. First year eligible players are those that retired after the 1998-99 season.

Gala ticket price: $300 EA.
To order tickets call: (416) 360-7735

First Year Eligible Players For Induction 2002

Note: This list only includes first year eligible forwards/defensemen who have played a minimum 400 games in the NHL and goaltenders who have played a minimum 250 games in the NHL. It does NOT include all players eligible for Induction 2002.
Name Position NHL GP 1998-99 League
Scott Arniel L 730 IHL
Jamie Baker C 405 NHL
Ken Baumgartner L 696 NHL
Brian Bellows L 1,188 NHL
Bill Berg L 546 NHL
Jeff Beukeboom D 804 NHL
Brian Bradley C 651 NHL
Randy Burridge L 706 Germany
Jim Carey G 261 NHL
Terry Carkner D 858 NHL
Bob Carpenter C 1,178 NHL
Steve Chiasson D 750 NHL
Dino Ciccarelli R 1,025 NHL
Russ Courtnall R 1,029 NHL
Adam Creighton C 708 Germany
John Cullen C 621 NHL
Pelle Eklund C 594 Sweden
Bob Errey L 895 AHL
Dean Evason C 803 Germany
Dave Gagner C 946 NHL
Ron Hextall G 970 NHL
Mike Hough L 707 NHL
Mike Hudson C 416 Germany
Kerry Huffman D 401 IHL
Dale Hunter C 1,407 NHL
Craig Janney D 858 NHL
Petr Klima R 786 NHL
Joey Kocur R 820 NHL
Gary Leeman R 667 Germany
Jocelyn Lemieux R 598 IHL
Doug Lidster D 897 NHL
Craig Ludwig D 1,256 NHL
Norm Maciver D 500 IHL
Jamie Macoun D 1,128 NHL
Sergei Makarov R 424 Russia
Mikko Makela R 423 Finland
Jay More D 406 NHL
Dana Murzyn D 838 NHL
Bernie Nicholls C 1,127 NHL
Jeff Reese G 858 NHL
Christian Ruuttu C 621 Finland
Warren Rychel L 406 NHL
Kjell Samuelsson D 813 NHL
David Shaw D 767 IHL
Geoff Smith D 462 NHL
Thomas Steen C 950 Germany
Mark Tinordi D 663 NHL
Tony Twist L 445 NHL
Neil Wilkinson D 460 NHL
Craig Wolanin D 695 IHL
Trent Yawney D 593 NHL
Peter Zezel C 873 NHL

Career Leader Board

Name Goals
Dino Ciccarelli 608
Brian Bellows 485
Bernie Nicholls 475

Name Assists
Bernie Nicholls 734
Dale Hunter 697
Dino Ciccarelli 592

Name Points
Bernie Nicholls 1,209
Dino Ciccarelli 1,200
Brian Bellows 1,022

Name Wins
Ron Hextall 296
Jim Carey 79
Jeff Reese 53

Name Shutouts
Ron Hextall 23
Jim Carey 16
Jeff Reese 5

Name Trophy
Jim Carey 1996 Vezina
John Cullen 1999 Masterton
Ron Hextall 1987 Conn Smythe
Sergei Makarov 1990 Calder

Name Country/Year
Brian Bellows Canada/1984
Jim Carey USA/1996 (spare)
Russ Courtnall Canada/1991
Sergei Makarov USSR/1981
Mark Tinordi Canada/1991

Click here to revisit the past six Induction Celebrations.

Haggar Clothing and Hockey Legends