Hockey Hall of Fame - 'Name Our Mascot' Contest

Slapshot stands guard of the Hockey Hall of Fame's NHL Zone alongside a nine-foot tall statue of Honoured Member Ken Dryden.

Between September 27, 2011 and January 9, 2012 the Hockey Hall of Fame called upon fans to help come up with a name for the newest addition to the HHOF family and the response was overwhelming! Over 2,300 creative submissions were received from all over North America.

Judging took place by a panel of Hockey Hall of Fame staff who thoroughly reviewed each entry. After much deliberation, the panel narrowed it down to a name that received over 70 submissions, thus resulting in a random draw.

And the winning submission is ... SLAPSHOT.

Congratulations to Diane Leib from Fort QuAppelle, Saskatchewan. Diane is the Grand Prize winner of the Panasonic 3D Ready High Definition Camcorder and a family pass of four tickets to the Hockey Hall of Fame (approximate value - $700).

Below are some of the most creative submissions that made our 'Honourable Mention' list.
  • Preston
  • Amik
  • Chewey
  • Stanley
  • CHIP (Committed to Hockey in all International Places)
  • Sir Chuck-A-Puck
  • Pucky
  • Hat Trick
Thank you to all who entered the Hockey Hall of Fame's 'Name Our Mascot' contest!
Le Germain
Bottom Line
Spirit Of Hockey, shop online now!
Find out about renting the facilities at the Hockey Hall of Fame
Donate your hockey artifacts to the Hockey Hall of Fame