Legends of Hockey - Non-NHL Trophies - Allan Cup
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
Allan Cup
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies
Allan Cup History

The Allan Cup was donated by Sir H. Montague Allan, C.V.O. shortly after the Stanley Cup became the championship trophy of the professional hockey clubs.

While the Stanley Cup originated as an amateur trophy, the proceeds from the Cup games went to the competing teams. This led to abuses of the principles of amateurism as clubs gathered star players from all parts of the country, regardless of cost, knowing that if they got into a Stanley Cup series their share of the receipts would take care of the extra expenses in building up a championship team. As a result Mr. Northey prevailed upon Sir Montague to offer a trophy for the encouragement of the amateurs, and to safeguard it with such rules and regulations as to prevent it from ever becoming a menace to the sport it was designed to foster. It was decided to make the cup a challenge trophy open to any senior club having won the championship of its league that year. The surplus proceeds after paying the legitimate expenses of the competing teams to be given to charity.

Interest in the Allan Cup became greater each year until the challenges became so numerous that it was impossible for any team holding the Cup to defend it against all those clubs sending in challenges.

The Canadian Hockey Association was formed in 1914 with branches in the Provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia. The "Allan Cup" was accepted by the association as the trophy emblematic of the senior amateur hockey championship of Canada.

In 1984, the classification of teams competing for the Allan Cup was changed to Senior AAA.


2017-18 Stoney Creek Generals
2016-17 Grand-Falls Windsor Cataracts
2015-16 Bentley Generals
2014-15 South East Prairie Thunder
2013-14 Dundas Real McCoys
2012-13 Bentley Generals
2011-12 South East Prairie Thunder
2010-11 Clarenville Caribous
2009-10 Fort St. John Flyers
2008-09 Bentley Generals
2007-08 Brantford Blast
2006-07 Lloydminster Border Kings
2005-06 Powell River Regals
2004-05 Thunder Bay Bombers
2003-04 Saint-Georges Garaga
2002-03 Île-des-Chênes North Stars
2001-02 Saint-Georges Garaga
2000-01 Lloydminster Border Kings
1999-00 Powell River Regals
1998-99 Stony Plain Eagles
1997-98  Truro Bearcats
1996-97 Powell River Regals
1995-96 Warroad Lakers
1994-95 Warroad Lakers
1993-94 Warroad Lakers
1992-93 Whitehorse Huskies
1991-92 Saint John Vitos
1990-91 Charlottetown Islanders
1989-90 Chomedy Laval Warriors
1988-89 Thunder Bay Twins
1987-88  Thunder Bay Twins
1986-87  Brantford Motts Clamatos
1985-86  Cornerbrook Royals
1984-85 Thunder Bay Twins
1983-84  Thunder Bay Twins
1982-83 Cambridge Hornets
1981-82 Cranbrook Royals
1980-81  Petrolia Squires
1979-80 Spokane Flyers
1978-79 Petrolia Squires
1977-78 Kimberley Dynamiters
1976-77 Brantford Alexanders
1975-76 Spokane Flyers
1974-75 Thunder Bay Twins
1973-74 Barrie Flyers
1972-73 Orillia Terriers
1971-72  Spokane Jets
1970-71 Galt Hornets
1969-70 Spokane Jets
1968-69 Galt Hornets
1967-68 Victoriaville Tigers
1966-67 Drummondville Eagles
1965-66  Drumheller Miners
1964-65 Sherbrooke Beavers
1963-64 Winnipeg Maroons
1962-63 Windsor Bulldogs
1961-62 Trail Smoke Eaters
1960-61 Galt Terriers
1959-60 Chatham Maroons
1958-59 Whitby Dunlops
1957-58 Belleville McFarlands
1956-57 Whitby Dunlops
1955-56 Vernon Canadians
1954-55 Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen
1953-54 Penticton V's
1952-53 Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen
1951-52 Fort Frances Canadians
1950-51 Owen Sound Mercurys
1949-50 Toronto Marlboros
1948-49 Ottawa Senators
1947-48 Edmonton Flyers
1946-47 Montreal Royals
1945-46 Calgary Stampeders
1944-45 -no competition-
1943-44 Quebec Aces
1942-43 Ottawa Commandos
1941-42 Ottawa RCAF
1940-41 Regina Rangers
1939-40 Kirkland Lake Blue Devils
1938-39 Port Arthur Bearcats
1937-38 Trail Smoke Eaters
1936-37 Sudbury Tigers
1935-36 Kimberley Dynamiters
1934-35 Halifax Wolverines
1933-34 Moncton Hawks
1932-33 Moncton Hawks
1931-32  Toronto Nationals
1930-31 Winnipeg Hockey Club
1929-30 Montreal AAA
1928-29 Port Arthur Hockey Club
1927-28 University of Manitoba
1926-27 Toronto Varsity Grads
1925-26  Port Arthur Hockey Club
1924-25 Port Arthur Hockey Club
1923-24 Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1922-23 Toronto Granites
1921-22 Toronto Granites
1920-21 University of Toronto
1919-20 Winnipeg Falcons
1918-19 Hamilton Tigers
1917-18 Kitchener Hockey Club
1916-17 Toronto Dentals
1915-16  Winnipeg 61st Battalion
1914-15 Winnipeg Monarchs
1913-14 Regina Victorias
1912-13 Winnipeg Hockey Club
1911-12 Winnipeg Victorias
1910-11 Winnipeg Victorias
1909-10 Toronto St. Michael's
1908-09 Kingston Queen's University
1908-09 Ottawa Cliffsides