Legends of Hockey - Historic Trophies - Manitoba Centennial Trophy
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Manitoba Centennial Trophy
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies
Manitoba Centennial Trophy History

The Manitoba Centennial Trophy was presented to the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association (CAHA) by the Manitoba Amateur Hockey Association to commemorate their centennial year of 1970. It was in that year that the CAHA reconfigured their junior tier, creating two separate classifications - Major Junior and Junior "A." The Major Junior class encompassed the teams that made up the "Canadian Major Junior Hockey League" while the Junior "A" section included the remaining junior teams within the association. With the Memorial Cup established as a trophy exclusively for teams in the "Canadian Major Junior Hockey League", the Manitoba Centennial Trophy served as the trophy for the champions of this new Junior "A" division.

The Red Deer Rustlers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League defeated the Charlottetown Islanders in 1971 to claim the inaugural Canadian Junior A Championship and Manitoba Centennial Trophy, often referred to as the "Centennial Cup."

In 1996, the Canadian Hockey Association introduced the newly named Royal Bank Cup for teams in the "Canadian Junior A Hockey League."


1994-95 Calgary Canucks (AJHL)
1993-94 Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
1992-93 Kelowna Spartans (BCJHL)
1991-92 Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1990-91 Vernon Lakers (BCJHL)
1989-90 Vernon Lakers (BCJHL)
1988-89 Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1987-88 Notre Dame Hounds (SJHL)
1986-87 Richmond Sockeyes (BCJHL)
1985-86 Penticton Knights (BCJHL)
1984-85 Orillia Travelways (OHA)
1983-84 Weyburn Red Wings (SJHL)
1982-83 North York Rangers (OJHL)
1981-82 Prince Albert Raiders (SJHL)
1980-81 Prince Albert Raiders (SJHL)
1979-80 Red Deer Rustlers (AJHL)
1978-79 Prince Albert Raiders (SJHL)
1977-78 Guelph Holoday Platers (OHA)
1976-77 Prince Albert Raiders (SJHL)
1975-76 Rockland Nationals (CJHL)
1974-75 Spruce Grove Mets (AJHL)
1973-74 Selkirk Steelers (MJHL)
1972-73 Portage La Prairie Terriers (MJHL)
1971-72 Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters (SOJHL)
1970-71 Red Deer Rustlers (AJHL)