Legends of Hockey - Historic Trophies - Lester Patrick Cup
Tissot - Official Timekeeper IIHF Tissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Lester Patrick Cup
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies
Lester Patrick Cup History

The Lester Patrick Cup was emblematic of the professional Western Hockey League. Originally, the Phil Henderson Cup was awarded from 1944-45 to 1950-51 to the playoff champions of the league. The Presidents Cup was then awarded to the playoff champions from 1951-52 to1959-60, and was renamed in 1960-61 to honour the late Lester Patrick following his death.

The league originated as an amateur loop called the Pacific Coast Hockey League in 1944-45. The league turned professional in 1948-49 and changed its name to the Western Hockey League in 1952-53. It operated with teams in the Western United States and Western Canada until 1973-74 when it suspended operations.


1973-74 Phoenix Roadrunners
1972-73 Phoenix Roadrunners
1971-72 Denver Spurs
1970-71 Portland Buckaroos
1969-70 Vancouver Canucks
1968-69 Vancouver Canucks
1967-68 Seattle Totems
1966-67 Seattle Totems
1965-66 Victoria Maple Leafs
1964-65 Portland Buckaroos
1963-64 San Francisco Seals
1962-63 San Francisco Seals
1961-62 Edmonton Flyers
1960-61 Portland Buckaroos
1959-60 Vancouver Canucks
1958-59 Seattle Totems
1957-58 Vancouver Canucks
1956-57 Brandon Regals
1955-56 Winnipeg Warriors
1954-55 Edmonton Flyers
1953-54 Calgary Stampeders
1952-53 Edmonton Flyers
1951-52 Saskatoon Quakers
1950-51 Victoria Cougars
1949-50 New Westminster Royals
1948-49 San Diego Skyhawks
1947-48 Vancouver Canucks
1946-47 Los Angeles Monarchs
1945-46 Vancouver Canucks
1944-45 Seattle Iromen