

## 2023 HOCKEY HALL OF FAME NHL MEDIA AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

TORONTO (June 1, 2023) – Frank Seravalli, President of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters' Association, announced today that **Mark Mulvoy** will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and **Dan Rusanowsky** will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Mark Mulvoy's incredible career in sports journalism began at his hometown Boston Globe in the 1960s. In the decades that followed he made his mark at Sports Illustrated, rising through the ranks to become the youngest managing editor in the magazine's history. His passion for hockey never wavered, and found expression in books like "My Game" with Bobby Orr and "Face off at the Summit" with Ken Dryden.

"Mark Mulvoy was a ground-breaking reporter as the first foreigner given access behind enemy lines to lift the curtain on the Soviet style of play", said Seravalli. "Mulvoy had boots on the ground in Moscow a handful of years before the '72 Summit Series, then of course was there to chronicle history. More importantly, he kept hockey in the hands and doctor's offices of the voracious Sports Illustrated readers. He was hockey's best friend at a time of critical period of growth for the sport."

Dan Rusanowsky has been the radio voice of the San Jose Sharks since the team's inception in 1991. One of the club's most recognizable figures both on-and-off the ice, Rusanowsky directs the Sharks Radio Network, contributes to the team's official game program, and provides regular columns and broadcast reports for sjsharks.com. A native of Connecticut, Rusanowsky began his broadcast career as the voice of St. Lawrence University's NCAA Division I hockey program and the American Hockey League's New Haven Nighthawks.

"Dan has an insatiable love for radio and has been an integral part of promoting the game of hockey in the Bay area on that medium from day one of the San Joes Sharks' existence in 1991," said Kaiton. "He is extremely worthy of this honour." Mulvoy and Rusanowsky will receive their awards at the "Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon" in Toronto on Monday, November 13, 2023, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as "Media Honourees" – a separate distinction from individuals inducted as "Honoured Members." Honoured Members are selected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2023 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 10, 2023, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 13, 2023. This year's inductees will be announced live on TSN on **Wednesday**, **June 21**, 2023.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the **Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late "Voice of Hockey" in Canada, the **Foster Hewitt Memorial Award** was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

## For more information:

Frank Seravalli Professional Hockey Writers' Association <u>Frank.seravalli@gmail.com</u>

Chuck Kaiton NHL Broadcasters' Association <u>Chuckkaiton3@gmail.com</u>