

HOCKEY HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES NEW APPOINTMENTS TO THE SELECTION COMMITTEE AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS

TORONTO (November 20, 2019) – Lanny McDonald, Chairman of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today new appointments to the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee and Board of Directors as confirmed at the Directors' meeting held on Monday in Toronto.

Mike Murphy will join the eighteen-member Selection Committee commencing with the 2020 nomination and election proceedings (replacing **Colin Campbell** who served his full term limit of 15 years) and **Jason Farris** will join the Board of Directors effective December 1, 2019 (replacing **Murray Costello** who is retiring from the Board after 39 years of service, the longest of any member of the Board, Selection Committee or staff).

Murphy played in the National Hockey League for 13 seasons (1971-1983) as a member of the St. Louis Blues, New York Rangers and Los Angeles Kings. He also performed Assistant and Head Coach duties with the Los Angeles Kings, Ottawa Senators, Vancouver Canucks, Toronto Maple Leafs and New York Rangers. Murphy currently serves as the NHL's Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations, a role in which he has managed all operations of the "Situation Room" for the majority of his 20-year tenure.

Farris served for seven seasons as Executive Vice-President (in dual roles as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer) for Dallas Sports & Entertainment LP and Alternate Governor for the Dallas Stars until August 2018. Prior to his tenure with the Stars' organization, Farris held executive positions in the financial services and software industries. He also founded circaNow Media and under that label has authored and published five hockey books, including his most recent title "It Takes 23 To Win: Building and Being Part of Great Hockey Teams" released in October 2019.

"I wish to express our appreciation and gratitude to Colie and Murray for their long-time distinguished service and outstanding contributions, and at the same time I am very pleased to welcome Mike and Jason to the organization," said McDonald. "On top of his extensive playing and coaching experience, Mike has probably watched more NHL hockey than any other person in the world, which will certainly benefit the Selection Committee's mandate to honour and recognize excellence in the game. As our newest member of the Board, Jason brings a depth of business expertise and passion for hockey to assist in the affairs of the Hall as a cultural institution and ensure its continued growth and development."

In addition to these new appointments, **Stewart Johnston** was appointed to the office of Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors and **Bob Clarke**, **John Davidson**, **Igor Larionov**, **David Poile** and **Luc Robitaille** were re-appointed to the Selection Committee each for a further three-year term expiring December 31, 2022.

The Selection Committee will meet on June 23 & 24, 2020 to consider duly nominated candidates for election into Honoured Membership. The announcement of the new inductees will be made on June 24, 2020 and the annual Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 16, 2020.

The Hockey Hall of Fame ("HHOF") was established in 1943 to honour and memorialize individuals who have brought special distinction to the game of hockey and those who made outstanding contributions to the development and advancement of hockey anywhere in the world, and to collect, research, preserve, exhibit and promote objects, images and other historical materials connected with the game at all levels. As a not-for-profit corporation and registered charity, HHOF owns and operates a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art exhibits, theatrical presentations and educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Canada.

CONTACT: Hockey Hall of Fame

Kelly Masse (416) 933-8212 kmasse@hhof.com



BOARD OF DIRECTORS (as elected March 26, 2019 or appointed in substitution thereafter)

Nominated and elected by:

Lanny McDonald, Chairman Corporate Governance Committee Stewart Johnston, Vice-Chairman Corporate Governance Committee

William L. Daly National Hockey League Ron DeGregorio USA Hockey, Inc.

Jason FarrisCorporate Governance CommitteeRené FaselInternational Ice Hockey Federation

Robert Goodenow National Hockey League Players' Association

Mark Grimes City of Toronto Stephen Holyday City of Toronto

Pat LaFontaine National Hockey League Geoff Molson National Hockey League Cam Neely National Hockey League

Kim Pegula Corporate Governance Committee

Anthony Perruzza City of Toronto Tom Renney Hockey Canada

Glen Sather National Hockey League
Larry Tanenbaum National Hockey League

OFFICERS (as appointed March 26, 2019 or in substitution thereafter)

Lanny McDonald Chairman of the Board

Stewart Johnston Vice-Chairman

Jeffery Denomme President and Chief Executive Officer

John R. Dow Secretary and General Counsel

Craig Baines Vice-President, Development and Building Operations
Peter Jagla Vice-President, Marketing and Attraction Services
Philip Pritchard Vice-President, Resource Centre and Curator

Sandra Walters Treasurer and Controller

SELECTION COMMITTEE (as appointed November 18, 2019)

New York, New York John Davidson, Chairman David Branch Toronto, Ontario Brian Burke Toronto, Ontario Cassie Campbell-Pascall Calgary, Alberta Winnipeg, Manitoba Mark Chipman **Bob Clarke** Sarasota, Florida Longueuil, Quebec Marc de Fov Michael Farber Verdun, Quebec Raleigh, North Carolina Ron Francis Mike Gartner Richmond Hill, Ontario Stockholm, Sweden Anders Hedberg Espoo, Finland Jari Kurri

Igor Larionov Bloomfield Hills, Michigan Pierre McGuire New Canaan, Connecticut

Bob McKenzie Whitby, Ontario
Mike Murphy Toronto, Ontario
David Poile Nashville, Tennessee
Luc Robitaille Santa Monica, California