[an error occurred while processing this directive]
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
Allan Cup
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Allan Cup History

The Allan Cup was donated by Sir H. Montague Allan, C.V.O. shortly after the Stanley Cup became the championship trophy of the professional hockey clubs.

While the Stanley Cup originated as an amateur trophy, the proceeds from the Cup games went to the competing teams. This led to abuses of the principles of amateurism as clubs gathered star players from all parts of the country, regardless of cost, knowing that if they got into a Stanley Cup series their share of the receipts would take care of the extra expenses in building up a championship team. As a result Mr. Northey prevailed upon Sir Montague to offer a trophy for the encouragement of the amateurs, and to safeguard it with such rules and regulations as to prevent it from ever becoming a menace to the sport it was designed to foster. It was decided to make the cup a challenge trophy open to any senior club having won the championship of its league that year. The surplus proceeds after paying the legitimate expenses of the competing teams to be given to charity.

Interest in the Allan Cup became greater each year until the challenges became so numerous that it was impossible for any team holding the Cup to defend it against all those clubs sending in challenges.

The Canadian Hockey Association was formed in 1914 with branches in the Provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia. The "Allan Cup" was accepted by the association as the trophy emblematic of the senior amateur hockey championship of Canada.

In 1984, the classification of teams competing for the Allan Cup was changed to Senior AAA.


2010-11Clarenville Caribous
2009-10Fort St. John Flyers
2008-09Bentley Generals
2007-08Brantford Blast
2006-07Lloydminster Border Kings
2005-06Powell River Regals
2004-05Thunder Bay Bombers
2003-04Saint-Georges Garaga
2002-03Île-des-Chênes North Stars
2001-02Saint-Georges Garaga
2000-01Lloydminster BorderKings
1999-00Powell River Regals
1998-99Stony Plain Eagles
1997-98†Truro Bearcats
1996-97Powell River Regals
1995-96Warroad Lakers
1994-95Warroad Lakers
1993-94Warroad Lakers
1992-93Whitehorse Huskies
1991-92Saint John Vitos
1990-91Charlottetown Islanders
1989-90Chomedy Laval Warriors
1988-89Thunder Bay Twins
1987-88†Thunder Bay Twins
1986-87†Brantford Motts Clamatos
1985-86†Cornerbrook Royals
1984-85Thunder Bay Twins
1983-84†Thunder Bay Twins
1982-83Cambridge Hornets
1981-82Cranbrook Royals
1980-81†Petrolia Squires
1979-80Spokane Flyers
1978-79Petrolia Squires
1977-78Kimberley Dynamiters
1976-77Brantford Alexanders
1975-76Spokane Flyers
1974-75Thunder Bay Twins
1973-74Barrie Flyers
1972-73Orillia Terriers
1971-72†Spokane Jets
1970-71Galt Hornets
1969-70Spokane Jets
1968-69Galt Hornets
1967-68Victoriaville Tigers
1966-67Drummondville Eagles
1965-66†Drumheller Miners
1964-65Sherbrooke Beavers
1963-64Winnipeg Maroons
1962-63Windsor Bulldogs
1961-62Trail Smoke Eaters
1960-61Galt Terriers
1959-60Chatham Maroons
1958-59Whitby Dunlops
1957-58Belleville McFarlands
1956-57Whitby Dunlops
1955-56Vernon Canadians
1954-55Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen
1953-54Penticton Vís
1952-53Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen
1951-52Fort Frances Canadians
1950-51Owen Sound Mercurys
1949-50Toronto Marlboros
1948-49Ottawa Senators
1947-48Edmonton Flyers
1946-47Montreal Royals
1945-46Calgary Stampeders
1944-45-no competition-
1943-44Quebec Aces
1942-43Ottawa Commandos
1941-42Ottawa RCAF
1940-41Regina Rangers
1939-40Kirkland Lake Blue Devils
1938-39Port Arthur Bearcats
1937-38Trail Smoke Eaters
1936-37Sudbury Tigers
1935-36Kimberley Dynamiters
1934-35Halifax Wolverines
1933-34Moncton Hawks
1932-33Moncton Hawks
1931-32†Toronto Nationals
1930-31Winnipeg Hockey Club
1929-30Montreal AAA
1928-29Port Arthur Bearcats
1927-28University of Manitoba
1926-27Toronto Varsity Grads
1925-26†Port Arthur Bearcats
1924-25Port Arthur Bearcats
1923-24Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1922-23Toronto Granites
1921-22Toronto Granites
1920-21University of Toronto
1919-20Winnipeg Falcons
1918-19Hamilton Tigers
1917-18Kitchener Hockey Club
1916-17Toronto Dentals
1915-16†Winnipeg 61st Battalion
1914-15Winnipeg Monarchs
1913-14Regina Victorias
1912-13Winnipeg Hockey Club
1911-12Winnipeg Victorias
1910-11Winnipeg Victorias
1909-10Toronto St. Michaelís
1908-09Kingston Queenís University
1908-09Ottawa Cliffsides
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at