[an error occurred while processing this directive]
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Avco World Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Avco World Trophy History

The AVCO World Trophy was given yearly to the championship team of the World Hockey Association (WHA). The trophy was donated to the new league in 1972 along with approximately $500,000 by the AVCO Financial Services Corporation. Thus the WHA became the only major sports league to have its championship trophy bear the name of a private corporation. There actually exist three AVCO trophies. Besides the one that is on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame, the others reside in Nova Scotia and Winnipeg - home of the first Avco winner, the Winnipeg Jets. The Avco Trophy was retired after the WHA ceased operations in 1979. The Bobby Hull led Jets claimed the trophy on four ocassions while Gordie Howe and the Aeros won it twice.


1978-79Winnipeg Jets
1977-78Winnipeg Jets
1976-77Quebec Nordiques
1975-76Winnipeg Jets
1974-75Houston Aeros
1973-74Houston Aeros
1972-73New England Whalers
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at