Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Calder Memorial Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy, named after former National Hockey League president Frank Calder, is awarded to the National Hockey League player judged to be the most proficient in his first season. Frank Calder was the NHLís president from 1917 until his sudden death in 1943. Although the NHLís best rookie was announced beginning with Carl Voss in 1933, it wasnít until the 1936-37 season and Syl Apps the recipient that the winner actually won the Calder Trophy. Upon Calderís death, the award became the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Winner selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular schedule.

Bobby Orr won Rookie-of-the-Year honours in 1967
NHL President Clarence Campbell congratulates Boston rookie Bobby Orr (1966-67 season)
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at