Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
Calder Cup
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Calder Cup History

The coveted Calder Cup has been a motivational force for American Hockey League teams throughout the League's history and is awarded annually to the AHL playoff champion. The trophy is named for Frank Calder, who served as the National Hockey League's first President from 1917 to 1943. During the 1920's, Mr. Calder was instrumental in guiding hockey into the mainstream of American's major cities including Boston, New York, Detroit and Chicago, while helping in the formation of the American League.

A total of 21 different cities have had their AHL member club win the Calder Cup, including the Cleveland Barons, who played in the AHL from 1936 to 1972 and won a record nine championships. The Hershey Bears have the most championships of active franchises with eight, the first in 1947 and the most recent in 1997.


2010-11 Binghamton Senators
2009-10 Hershey Bears
2008-09 Hershey Bears
2007-08 Chicago Wolves
2006-07 Hamilton Bulldogs
2005-06 Hershey Bears
2004-05 Philadelphia Phantoms
2003-04 Milwaukee Admirals
2002-03 Houston Aeros
2001-02 Chicago Wolves
2000-01 Saint John Flames
1999-00 Hartford Wolf Pack
1998-99 Providence Bruins
1997-98 Philadelphia Phantoms
1996-97 Hershey Bears
1995-96 Rochester Americans
1994-95 Albany River Rats
1993-94 Portland Pirates
1992-93 Cape Breton Oilers
1991-92 Adirondack Red Wings
1990-91 Springfield Indians
1989-90 Springfield Indians
1988-89 Adirondack Red Wings
1987-88 Hershey Bears
1986-87 Rochester Americans
1985-86 Adirondack Red Wings
1984-85 Sherbrooke Canadiens
1983-84 Maine Mariners
1982-83 Rochester Americans
1981-82 New Brunswick Hawks
1980-81Adirondack Red Wings
1979-80 Hershey Bears
1978-79 Maine Mariners
1977-78 Maine Mariners
1976-77 Nova Scotia Voyaguers
1975-76 Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1974-75 Springfield Kings
1973-74 Hershey Bears
1972-73 Cincinnati Swords
1971-72 Nova Scotia Voyageurs
1970-71 Springfield Kings
1969-70 Buffalo Bisons
1968-69 Hershey Bears
1967-68 Rochester Americans
1966-67 Pittsburgh Hornets
1965-66 Rochester Americans
1964-65 Rochester Americans
1963-64 Cleveland Barons
1962-63 Buffalo Bisons
1961-62 Springfield Indians
1960-61 Springfield Indians
1959-60 Springfield Indians
1958-59 Hershey Bears
1957-58 Hershey Bears
1956-57 Cleveland Barons
1955-56 Providence Reds
1954-55 Pittsburgh Hornets
1953-54 Cleveland Barons
1952-53 Cleveland Barons
1951-52 Pittsburgh Hornets
1950-51 Cleveland Barons
1949-50 Indianapolis Capitols
1948-49 Providence Reds
1947-48 Cleveland Barons
1946-47 Hershey Bears
1945-46 Buffalo Bisons
1944-45 Cleveland Barons
1943-44 Buffalo Bisons
1942-43 Buffalo Bisons
1941-42 Indianapolis Capitols
1940-41 Cleveland Barons
1939-40 Providence Reds
1938-39 Cleveland Barons
1937-38 Providence Reds
1936-37Syracuse Stars
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at