Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Manitoba Centennial Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Manitoba Centennial Trophy History

The Manitoba Centennial Trophy was presented to the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association (CAHA) by the Manitoba Amateur Hockey Association to commemorate their centennial year of 1970. It was in that year that the CAHA reconfigured their junior tier, creating two separate classifications - Major Junior and Junior "A." The Major Junior class encompassed the teams that made up the "Canadian Major Junior Hockey League" while the Junior "A" section included the remaining junior teams within the association. With the Memorial Cup established as a trophy exclusively for teams in the "Canadian Major Junior Hockey League", the Manitoba Centennial Trophy served as the trophy for the champions of this new Junior "A" division.

The Red Deer Rustlers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League defeated the Charlottetown Islanders in 1971 to claim the inaugural Canadian Junior A Championship and Manitoba Centennial Trophy, often referred to as the "Centennial Cup."

In 1996, the Canadian Hockey Association introduced the newly named Royal Bank Cup for teams in the "Canadian Junior A Hockey League."


1994-95Calgary Canucks(AJHL)
1993-94Olds Grizzlys(AJHL)
1992-93Kelowna Spartans(BCJHL)
1991-92 Vernon Lakers (USHL)
1990-91Regina Pat Canadians(BCJHL)
1989-90Vernon Lakers(BCJHL)
1988-89Thunder Bay Flyers(USHL)
1987-88 Notre Dame Hounds (SJHL)
1986-87Richmond Sockeyes (BCJHL)
1985-86Penticton Knights(BCJHL)
1984-85 Orillia Travelways(OHA)
1983-84Weyburn Red Wings (SJHL)
1982-83North York Rangers(OJHL)
1981-82 Prince Albert Raiders(SJHL)
1980-81Prince Albert Raiders(SJHL)
1979-80Red Deer Rustlers (AJHL)
1978-79Prince Albert Raiders (SJHL)
1977-78 Guelph Holoday Platters(OHA)
1976-77Prince Albert Raiders(SJHL)
1975-76Rockland Nationals (CJHL)
1974-75 Spruce Grove Mets(AJHL)
1973-74Selkirk Steelers(MJHL)
1972-73Portage La Prairie Terriers(MJHL)
1971-72 Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters(SOJHL)
1970-71 Red Deer Rustlers(AJHL)
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at