Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Lady Byng, wife of Canada's Governor-General at the time, presented the Lady Byng Trophy in 1925. After Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the award seven times in eight seasons, he was given the trophy to keep and Lady Byng donated another trophy in 1936. After Lady Byng's death in 1949, the National Hockey League presented a new trophy, changing the name to the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The trophy is an annual award given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

The Lady Byng Trophy was first awarded in 1925. The inaugural winner-Ottawa's Frank Nighbor.

Sid Smith won the Lady Byng twice during his career with the Leafs
NHL President Clarence Campbell makes presentation to Maple Leafs forward Sid Smith (1951-52 season)
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at