Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
Lester Patrick Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Lester Patrick Trophy

The Lester Patrick Trophy was presented by the New York Rangers in 1966 to honour the late Lester Patrick. Patrick was a longtime general manager and coach of the Rangers, whose teams finished out of the playoffs only once in his first 16 years with the club.

The trophy is an annual award presented for outstanding service to hockey in the United States. Eligible recipients are players, officials, coaches, executives, and referees. The winner is selected by an award committee consisting of the President of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builder's section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Player's section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters' Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Except for the League President, each member is rotated annually. The winner(s) receive a miniature of the trophy.


2008 Brian Burke
Phil Housley
Ted Lindsay
Bob Naegele
2007 Brian Leetch
Cammi Granato
Stan Fischler
John Halligan
2006 Red Berenson
Marcel Dionne
Reed Larson
Glen Sonmor
Steve Yzerman
2004 John Davidson
Mike Emrick
Ray Miron
2003 Raymond Bourque
Ron DeGregorio
Willie O'Ree
2002 1960 U.S. Olympic Ice Hockey Team
Herb Brooks
Larry Pleau
2001 Gary Bettman
Scotty Bowman
David Poile
2000 Mario Lemieux
Craig Patrick
Lou Vairo
1999 Harry Sinden
U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team
1998 Peter Karmanos
Max McNab
Neal Broten
John Mayasich
1997 Seymour H. Knox III
Bill Cleary
Pat LaFontaine
1996 George Gund
Ken Morrow
Milt Schmidt
1995 Joe Mullen
Brian Mullen
1994 Wayne Gretzky
Robert Ridder
1993 Frank Boucher
Red Dutton
Bruce McNall
Gil Stein
1992 Al Arbour
Art Berglund
Lou Lamoriello
1991 Rod Gilbert
Mike Ilitch
1990 Len Ceglarski
1989 Dan Kelly
Lou Nanne
Lynn Patrick
Bud Poile
1988 Keith Allen
Fred Cusick
Bob Johnson
1987 Hobey Baker
Frank Mathers
1986 John MacInnes
Jack Riley
1985 Jack Butterfield
Arthur M. Wirtz
1984 Arthur Howie Ross
John A. Ziegler Jr.
1983 Bill Torrey
1982 Emile P. Francis
1981 Charles M. Schulz
1980 Bobby Clarke
Frederick A. Shero
Edward M. Snider
U.S. Olympic Team
1979 Bobby Orr
1978 Philip A. Esposito
Tom Fitzgerald
William T. Tutt
William W. Wirtz
1977 Murray A. Armb
John P. Bucyk
John Mariucci
1976 George A. Leader
Stanley Mikita
Bruce A. Norris
1975 William L. Chadwick
Donald M. Clark
Thomas N. Ivan
1974 Weston W. Adams Sr.
Charles L. Crovat
Alex Delvecchio
Murray Murdoch
1973 Walter L. Bush
1972 Clarence S. Campbell
John Kelly
James D. Norris
Ralph Cooney Weiland
1971 William M. Jennings
Terrance G. Sawchuk
John B. Sollenberger
1970 James C.V. Hendy
Edward W. Shore
1969 Robert M. Hull
Edward J. Jeremiah
1968 Walter A. Brown
Gen. John R. Kilpatrick
Thomas F. Lockhart
1967 Charles F. Adams
Gordon Howe
James Norris Sr.
1966 J.J. Jack Adams
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at