Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Lester Patrick Cup
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Lester Patrick Cup History

The Lester Patrick Cup was emblematic of the professional Western Hockey League. Originally named the President's Cup, the playoff championship trophy was renamed in 1960-61 to honour the late Lester Patrick following his death.

The league originated as an amateur loop called the Pacific Coast Hockey League in 1944-45. The league turned professional in 1948-49 and changed its name to the Western Hockey League in 1951-52. It operated with teams in the Western United States and Western Canada until 1973-74 when it suspended operations.


1973-74 Phoenix Roadrunners
1972-73 Phoenix Roadrunners
1971-72 Denver Spurs
1970-71 Portland Buckaroos
1969-70 Vancouver Canucks
1968-69 Vancouver Canucks
1967-68 Seattle Totems
1966-67 Seattle Totems
1965-66 Victoria Maple Leafs
1964-65 Portland Buckaroos
1963-64 San Francisco Seals
1962-63 San Francisco Seals
1961-62 Edmonton Flyers
1960-61 Portland Buckaroos
1959-60 Vancouver Canucks
1958-59 Seattle Totems
1957-58 Vancouver Canucks
1956-57 Brandon Regals
1955-56 Winnipeg Warriors
1954-55 Edmonton Flyers
1953-54 Calgary Stampeders
1952-53 Edmonton Flyers
1951-52 Saskatoon Quakers
1950-51 Victoria Cougars
1949-50 New Westminster Royals
1948-49 San Diego Skyhawks
1947-48 Vancouver Canucks
1946-47 Los Angeles Monarchs
1945-46 Vancouver Canucks
1944-45 Seattle Iromen
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at