Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
Memorial Cup
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Memorial Cup History

The Memorial Cup was originally known as the OHA Memorial Cup and was donated by the Ontario Hockey Association in March, 1919, in remembrance of the many soldiers who paid the supreme sacrifice for Canada in the First World War.

Initially the Cup was awarded to the national junior hockey champions of Canada. Later on it came to signify Junior 'A' hockey supremacy when in 1934, junior hockey in Canada was divided into 'A' and 'B' classifications. In 1971, junior 'A' hockey was divided once again to form a major junior and a Tier 'II' level. The Memorial Cup was awarded to the higher category. In 1972, a round-robin tournament format replaced the old play-down system to determine the champions. Since then, the champions of the Western Hockey League (WHL), the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) and the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), along with a host club, have met each spring in a round-robin series with the two top teams playing off in a sudden-death game to determine the Cup champions.


2010-11 Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
2009-10 Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2008-09 Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2007-08 Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
2006-07 Vancouver Giants (WHL)
2005-06 Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
2004-05 London Knights(OHL)
2003-04 Kelowna Rockets(WHL)
2002-03 Kitchener Rangers(OHL)
2001-02 Kootenay Ice(WHL)
2000-01 Red Deer Rebels(WHL)
1999-00 Rimouski Oceanic(QMJHL)
1998-99 Ottawa 67ís(OHL)
1997-98 Portland Winter Hawks(WHL)
1996-97 Hull Olympiques(QMJHL)
1995-96 Granby Predateurs(QMHJL)
1994-95 Kamloops Blazers(WHL)
1993-94 Kamloops Blazers(WHL)
1992-93 Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds(OHL)
1991-92 Kamloops Blazers(WHL)
1990-91 Spokane Chiefs(WHL)
1989-90 Oshawa Generals(OHL)
1988-89 Swift Current Broncos(WHL)
1987-88 Medicine Hat Tigers(WHL)
1986-87 Medicine Hat Tigers(WHL)
1985-86 Guelph Platers(OHL)
1984-85 Prince Albert Raiders(WHL)
1983-84 Ottawa 67ís(OHL)
1982-83 Portland Winter Hawks(WHL)
1981-82 Kitchener Rangers(OHL)
1980-81 Cornwall Royals(OHL)
1979-80 Cornwall Royals(OHL)
1978-79 Peterborough Petes(OHL)
1977-78 New Westminster Bruins(WHL)
1976-77 New Westminster Bruins(WHL)
1975-76 Hamilton Fincups(OHL)
1974-75 Toronto Marlboros(OHL)
1973-74 Regina Pats(WHL)
1972-73 Toronto Marlboros(OHL)
1971-72 Cornwall Royals
1970-71 Quebec Remparts
1969-70 Montreal Junior Canadiens
1968-69 Montreal Junior Canadiens
1967-68 Niagara Falls Flyers
1966-67 Toronto Marlboros
1965-66 Edmonton Oil Kings
1964-65 Niagara Falls Flyers
1963-64 Toronto Marlboros
1962-63 Edmonton Oil Kings
1961-62 Hamilton Red Wings
1960-61 Toronto St. Michaelís Majors
1959-60 St. Catharines Tee Pees
1958-59 Winnipeg Braves
1957-58 Ottawa-Hull Canadiens
1956-57 Flin Flon Bombers
1955-56 Toronto Marlboros
1954-55 Toronto Marlboros
1953-54 St. Catharines Tee Pees
1952-53 Barrie Flyers
1951-52 Guelph Biltmores
1950-51 Barrie Flyers
1949-50 Montreal Canadiens
1948-49 Montreal Royals
1947-48 Port Arthur West End Bruins
1946-47 Toronto St. Michaelís
1945-46 Winnipeg Monarchs
1944-45 Toronto St. Michaelís
1943-44 Oshawa Generals
1942-43 Winnipeg Rangers
1941-42 Portage La Prairie Terriers
1940-41 Winnipeg Rangers
1939-40 Oshawa Generals
1938-39 Oshawa Generals
1937-38 St. Boniface Seals
1936-37 Winnipeg Monarchs
1935-36 West Toronto Nationals
1934-35 Winnipeg Monarchs
1933-34 Toronto St. Michaelís
1932-33 Newmarket Reds
1931-32 Sudbury Wolves
1930-31 Winnipeg Elmwoods Millionaires
1929-30 Regina Pats
1928-29 Toronto Marlboros
1927-28 Regina Monarchs
1926-27 Owen Sound Greys
1925-26 Calgary Canadians
1924-25 Regina Pats
1923-24 Owen Sound Greys
1922-23 University of Manitoba
1921-22 Fort William War Veterans
1920-21 Winnipeg Falcons
1919-20 Toronto Canoe Club
1918-19 University of Toronto Schools
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at