Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
O'Brien Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
O'Brien Trophy History

The O達rien Trophy was donated to the National Hockey Association by its name sake Senator J. O達rien in recognition of his son J. Ambrose O達rien, in 1910. The trophy was to be emblematic of the championship of the league.

J.A. O達rien had hockey in his blood. He participated at all levels of the game — as a player, financier and founder. He almost single-handedly organized the National Hockey Association and helped launch one of the most famous teams in NHL history — the Montreal Canadiens.

After the demise of the National Hockey Association in 1917, the trophy was taken over by the National Hockey League and awarded to the league champions. Upon the donation of the Prince of Wales Trophy to the NHL in the early 1920痴, a decision was made by the league executive to retire the O達rien Trophy. However in 1928, the O達rien Trophy officially was awarded to the Canadian team with the most points. The significance of the O達rien Trophy痴 was again altered in 1939, becoming the runner-up award for the league's regular season crown. The trophy was officially retired by the NHL at the end of the 1949-50 season.


1950 New York Rangers
1949 Detroit Red Wings
1948 Detroit Red Wings
1947 Montreal Canadiens
1946 Boston Bruins
1945 Detroit Red Wings
1944 Chicago Blackhawks
1943 Boston Bruins
1942 Detroit Red Wings
1941 Detroit Red Wings
1940 Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Toronto Maple Leafs
1938 Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Montreal Canadiens
1936 Montreal Maroons
1935 Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Toronto Maple Leafs
1933 Toronto Maple Leafs
1932 Montreal Canadiens
1931 Montreal Canadiens
1930 Montreal Maroons
1929 Montreal Canadiens
1928 Montreal Canadiens
1923 Ottawa Senators
1922 Toronto St Pats
1921 Ottawa Senators
1920 Ottawa Silver Seven
1919 Montreal Canadiens
1918 Toronto Arenas
1917 Montreal Canadiens
1916 Montreal Canadiens
1915 Ottawa Senators
1914 Toronto Blue Shirts
1913 Quebec Bulldogs
1912 Quebec Bulldogs
1911 Ottawa Senators
1910 Montreal Wanderers
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at