Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Historic Trophies
Joseph Turner Memorial Cup
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Joseph Turner Memorial Cup History

The Joseph Turner Memorial Cup was awarded annually by the Board of Governors of the International Hockey League (IHL) to the team winning the playoff championship.

The award was named after Joe Turner, a young Windsor, Ontario athlete who drew distinction as a quality amateur goalie in the Michigan-Ontario league. He turned professional with the Detroit Red Wings of the National Hockey League and played with Detroit's American Hockey League farm club in Indianapolis. He led the Capitols to the 1940-41 Calder Cup championship as the league's First Team All-Star goaltender. Joe Turner was killed in action on December 13, 1944 during World War II as a member of the United States Army.

The Turner Cup was officially retired when the IHL ceased operations in July, 2001


2000-01 Orlando Solar Bears
1999-00Chicago Wolves
1998-99 Houston Aeros
1997-98 Chicago Wolves
1996-97 Detroit Vipers
1995-96 Utah Grizzlies
1994-95 Denver Grizzlies
1993-94 Atlanta Knights
1993-94 Atlanta Knights
1992-93 Fort Wayne Komets
1991-92 Kansas City Blades
1990-91 Peoria Rivermen
1989-90 Indianapolis Ice
1988-89 Muskegon Lumberjacks
1987-88 Salt Lake Golden Eagles
1986-87 Salt Lake Golden Eagles
1985-86 Muskegon Lumberjacks
1984-85 Peoria Rivermen
1983-84 Flint Generals
1982-83 Toledo Goaldiggers
1981-82 Toledo Goaldiggers
1980-81 Saginaw Gears
1979-80 Kalamazoo Wings
1978-79 Kalamazoo Wings
1977-78 Toledo Goaldiggers
1976-77 Saginaw Gems
1975-76 Dayton Gems
1974-75 Toledo Goaldiggers
1973-74 Des Moines Capitols
1972-73 Fort Wayne Komets
1971-72 Port Huron Flags
1970-71 Port Huron Flags
1969-70 Dayton Gems
1968-69 Dayton Gems
1967-68 Muskegon Mohawks
1966-67 Toledo Blades
1965-66 Port Huron Flags
1964-65 Fort Wayne Komets
1963-64 Toledo Blades
1962-63 Fort Wayne Komets
1961-62 Muskegon Zephyrs
1960-61 St. Paul Saints
1959-60 St. Paul Saints
1958-59 Louisville Rebels
1957-58 Indianapolis Chiefs
1956-57 Cincinnati Mohawks
1955-56 Cincinnati Mohawks
1954-55 Cincinnati Mohawks
1953-54 Cincinnati Mohawks
1952-53 Cincinnati Mohawks
1951-52 Toledo Mercurys
1950-51 Toledo Mercurys
1949-50 Chatham Maroons
1948-49 Windsor Hettche Spitfires
1947-48 Toledo Mercurys
1946-47 Windsor Spitfires
1945-46 Detroit Auto Club
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at