Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Vezina Trophy
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
Vezina Trophy

Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau, and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, the outstanding goalkeeper of the Canadiens, who collapsed during an NHL game Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later.
Until the 1981-82 season, the goalkeeper(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.
In 1981-82, the trophy’s definition changed. The Williams M. Jennings Trophy was introduced for the goalkeeper with the lowest goals-against average, while the Vezina Trophy then became an award for the goaltender judged to be the best at his position in the opinion of the general managers. The first Vezina Trophy went to George Hainsworth, who, ironically, replaced Georges Vezina in goal for the Montreal Canadiens.
The record for most Vezina tiles belongs to legendary Jacques Plante with seven. Bill Durnan and Dominik Hasek sit second with six wins apiece.

An annual award "to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position." as voted by the general managers of each of the 26 clubs.

The overall winner receives $10,000, and runners-up $6,000 and $4,000.

Leafs great Turk Broda was a two-time Vezina winner
Toronto goaltender Walter "Turk" Broda (1947-48 season)
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at