Home Legends Silverware
RBC Financial group Silverware
Trophy Tours
Non-NHL Trophies
IIHF World Women's Championship
RBC Local Hockey Leaders
NHL Trophies Non-NHL Trophies Historic Trophies  
IIHF World Women's Championship History

The Women’s World Championship is a relatively new event, having staged its first competition in 1990. This tournament, initially held every two years, grew in stature that precipitated not only the need for an annual tournament but also separate tiers to accommodate additional competing nations.

While there have always been eight teams vying for women’s hockey supremacy, every gold medal game has featured the two perennial powerhouse teams of Canada and the United States. Although the venues have changed from year to year, it has been the Canadians who have skated off as champions after the final whistle. In fact, the Canadians have never lost a game in the eight World tournaments.

Each winning team receives and keeps a championship plate to symbolize their victory in women’s hockey at its highest level.


2011 United States
2010 Not held during Olympic Year
2009 United States
2008 United States
2007 Canada
2006 Not held during Olympic Year
2005 United States
2004 Canada
2001 Canada
2000 Canada
1999 Canada
1997 Canada
1994 Canada
1992 Canada
1990 Canada
1987 Canada
Visit Hockey Hall of Fame NaviSkater at