Legends of Hockey - Induction Showcase - 2011 Induction Eligibility
Induction Showcase presented by TSN Go to Induction Showcase Menu presented by TSN
2011 Induction Celebration

Hockey Hall of Fame Logo Hockey Hall of Fame Announces 2011 Inductees

TORONTO (June 28, 2011) — Bill Hay, Chairman and CEO of the Hockey Hall of Fame, Jim Gregory and Pat Quinn, Co-Chairmen of the Hockey Hall of Fame's Selection Committee, announced today Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour, Mark Howe and Joe Nieuwendyk have been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in the Player Category. The vote took place today at the annual meeting of the Selection Committee in Toronto.

"The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these four hockey legends as Honoured Members," said Jim Gregory. "Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved."

Ed Belfour, a native of Carmen, Manitoba, played on five NHL teams from the 1988 to 2007 seasons, winning the Stanley cup in 1999 as a member of the Dallas Stars. A two-time Vezina trophy winner, he also won a gold medal at the 2002 Winter Olympic Games.

"It is hard to put into words what this means to me," said Belfour. "I would like to thank all of my teammates and people along the way who helped me achieve my hockey dreams."

Doug Gilmour was born in Kingston, Ontario and played Junior hockey nearby as a member of the Cornwall Royals, winning a Memorial Cup in 1981. Doug played 20 years in the NHL, winning a Stanley Cup with the Calgary Flames in 1989.

"This is an overwhelming honour and one that makes me reflect back on the teammates and coaches I have had over years," said Gilmour. "Larry Mavety, who gave me a chance in Tier II hockey and Gord Wood who drafted me into Junior at Cornwall, are two people who were instrumental in helping me establish myself as a player".

Mark Howe played his Junior hockey in Toronto before turning professional with the Houston Aeros in 1973. He stayed in the WHA until the merger with the NHL, playing with the Hartford Whalers, the Philadelphia Flyers and Detroit Red Wings before retiring in 1995.

"I was elated to have this dream come true given that it is a tremendous honour just to have my name mentioned with the upper echelon of hockey," said Howe. "To actually have my name in the Hall of Fame with my Dad will mean so much to my family."

Joe Nieuwendyk played three seasons at Cornell University before turning professional with the Calgary Flames, winning Rookie of the Year in 1988. Joe went on to win the Stanley Cup with Calgary the following season and twice more - with Dallas in 1999 and New Jersey in 2003.

"Every player does their best year after year and strives to play at a very high level," said Nieuwendyk. "I truly love the game and love to compete, and I'm pleased to be honoured by the Hockey Hall of Fame."

The 2011 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 14th at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

For more information, please contact
Kelly Masse
Hockey Hall of Fame
(416) 416-933-8212
[email protected]

Hockey Hall of Fame Logo

Hockey Hall of Fame Announces 2011 Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award and Foster Hewitt Memorial Award Recipients

Edmonton Sun writer and Red Wings' colour analyst to be recognized

Terry Jones
TORONTO ((June 2, 2011) — Bill Hay, Chairman and CEO of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that TERRY JONES, who has covered the Edmonton Oilers from their infancy to present, will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism. Hay also announced that MICKEY REDMOND, the Detroit Red Wings' colour commentator, will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Terry Jones had his first hockey stories published in the weekly Lacombe Globe when he was just in Grade 7 and daily Red Deer Advocate when he was in Grade 10. Jones moved to the Edmonton Sun in 1982 and has covered over 500 Stanley Cup playoff games including all 251 in Edmonton Oilers history; all Canada Cups/World Cups dating back to 1976; and several IIHF World Championships in Europe and World Juniors in Canada. He also holds the Canadian record for most Olympics covered at 16.

"Edmonton readers have been treated to Terry's entertaining hockey columns for many years," said Kevin Allen, president of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. "His game columns are always his best. He picks out one interesting aspect of the game and brings it home to readers with his breezy, witty and insightful style."

Mickey Redmond
Mickey Redmond was a two time fifty goal scorer during his nine-year NHL career with Montreal and Detroit before retiring due to a back injury. He began his broadcasting career in 1979 as a colour analyst for the Red Wings. He gained national notoriety with a five year run with Hockey Night in Canada from 1980 - 1985, working with broadcast legends and fellow Foster Hewitt award winners Bob Cole, Dick Irvin and the late Danny Gallivan. He returned to the motor city as an analyst where he currently works with Fox Sports Detroit. He is most known for his colourful phrases, "Mickeyisms", which have entertained Red Wing fans for the past 26 years.

"Mickey has had a distinguished broadcast career on both the national and local level and is extremely worthy of receiving the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award," said Chuck Kaiton, president, NHL Broadcasters' Association. "He's the toast of Hockeytown!"

Jones and Redmond will receive the awards at a luncheon presentation on Monday, November 14, 2011. This year's Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will take place November 11th to 14th, culminating with the Induction Ceremony beginning at 7:30 P.M. (EST) on Monday, November 14th.