Hockey Hall of Fame - 2019 Induction Celebration - Press Releases
Induction Showcase presented by TSN Go to Induction Showcase Menu presented by TSN
2019 Induction Celebration
Induction Weekend Legends Classic Press Releases VIP Packages GALA Tickets


TORONTO (June 25th, 2019) – Lanny McDonald, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame announced today that six individuals have been elected to Hockey Hall of Fame Honoured Membership, in both the Player and Builder Category.  The vote took place today at the annual meeting of the Selection Committee in Toronto.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these hockey legends as Honoured Members,” said Lanny McDonald.  “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

In the Builder Category, two individuals were elected.

Jim Rutherford
Jim Rutherford

Jim Rutherford was a first round selection of the Detroit Red Wings in 1969 and after his playing career ended he embarked on a long and storied career in management.  From his start with the Windsor Spitfires in 1984, Jim went on to the General Manager post with the Hartford franchise for 20 years, winning a Stanley Cup in Carolina in 2006. He currently holds the post of GM with the Pittsburgh Penguins, where he won Stanley Cups in 2016 and 2017.

“I started my career in Beeton, 50 miles north of the Hall of Fame, never dreaming that I would once be in it,” said Rutherford.  “I’ve travelled lots of miles in hockey and met so many great people along the way.”

Jerry York
Jerry York

Also in the Builder Category, Jerry York was elected.  Jerry began his NCAA coaching career at Clarkson University in 1972, moving to Bowling Green in 1979.  In 15 years at Bowling Green his teams had six NCAA tournament berths, winning the title in 1984. He then moved to Boston College where he has won an additional four NCAA championships.

“I’m flabbergasted with this unexpected honour,” said York.  “I will cherish this special recognition.”

Guy Carbonneau
Guy Carbonneau

In the Player Category, four individuals were elected. 

Guy Carbonneau played 13 seasons with the Montreal Canadiens, winning the Selke Award as the NHL’S top defensive forward three times – in addition to Stanley Cups in 1986 and 1993.  He also played five seasons with the Dallas Stars, winning another Stanley Cup in 1999.

“This is an honour you think about, but it’s never a sure thing,” said Carbonneau.  “It is an incredible recognition and I thank the Selection Committee.”

Vaclav  Nedomansky
Vaclav Nedomansky

Vaclav Nedomansky played 12 seasons professionally in Bratislava before becoming the first athlete from an Eastern European communist country to defect to North America to pursue a professional hockey career. He starred in the WHA with the Toronto Toros and Birmingham Bulls before joining the Detroit Red Wings as a 33-year-old rookie in 1977.

“I appreciate my accomplishments being recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame,” said Nedomansky.  “I’m proud to be the first player from a communist country to come and play in North America.”

Hayley  Wickenheiser
Hayley Wickenheiser

Hayley Wickenheiser has played professionally in both men’s and women’s hockey, won seven Women’s World Championship gold medals, as well as four Olympic gold medals in 21 seasons as a member of Canada’s national team. 

Sergei Zubov
Sergei Zubov

Sergei Zubov joined the New York Rangers in 1992 after playing four seasons with the Moscow Red Army.  A member of the Rangers’ 1994 Stanley Cup team, Sergei also played 12 seasons with the Dallas Stars, winning a second Stanley Cup in 1999.

“Deep down in my heart I am so glad to receive this honour,” said Zubov.  “It has been my pleasure to have been involved in hockey all of my life.”

The 2019 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 18th at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.  

Media Awards


TORONTO (May 28, 2019) - Mark Spector, President of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association, announced today that Frank Brown will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and Jim Hughson will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Frank Brown’s professional writing career began in 1970, at the age of 18, when his first story appeared in a New York Rangers game-night program. Brown spent seven seasons as the principle hockey voice for The Associated Press during which he covered the Miracle On Ice and the dynasty years of the Montreal Canadiens. He joined The New York Daily News from 1980 – 1998 covering all three NHL teams, including Stanley Cup Championships by each. Brown retired in 2018 after spending the final two decades of his career as a communications executive with the NHL.

"As a writer, Frank was that rare mix of story breaker and story teller," said Spector. "He stayed true to his tabloid roots with punchy prose, scoops and leads that reminded you that you were reading the New York Daily News. But in his time covering literally every important story between the Islanders dynasty and the Rangers win in '94, he also told hockey's stories exceptionally well."

Jim Hughson began broadcasting hockey games in the South Peace Hockey League in his hometown of Fort St John, B.C. Those games led to a 30-year career, calling games on radio and TV at every level. A ten time nominee and 4 time recipient of the Gemini/ Canadian screen award as Canada's top play by play announcer. Hughson has called the Stanley Cup final, World Junior championship, Olympics, and World Cup of Hockey. Hughson is also a member of the British Columbia Hockey Hall of Fame.

"Jim Hughson has been an exemplary broadcaster on both the local and national levels for many years, since his days with Vancouver Canucks, said Kaiton. "Jim is an excellent broadcaster and a very deserving recipient of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award."

Brown and Hughson will receive their awards at the “Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon” in Toronto on Monday, November 18, 2019, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as "Media Honourees" - a separate distinction from individuals inducted as "Honoured Members" who are elected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2019 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 15, 2019, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 18, 2019. This year's inductees will be announced on Tuesday, June 25, 2019.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late “Voice of Hockey” in Canada, the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

For more information:

Mark Spector
Professional Hockey Writers’ Association
[email protected]

Chuck Kaiton
NHL Broadcasters’ Association
[email protected]

Hockey Hall of Fame 2019 Induction Celebration Official Sponsors